Bulilima Rural District Council was established through an act of Parliament and is regulated through the Rural District Council ‘s Act 29:13  It is one of the seven administrative districts in Matabeleland South province , it was initial proclaimed in 2002 after the split of the former Bulilima Mangwe Rural District Council. It then attained District status in 2003.It has 22 wards whose councilors make up the policy and legislative arm of the RDC.  The district falls under five chieftainships and fifteen headmen.